Is Instant Oatmeal Gluten Free?

Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten? Pure oatmeal does not include gluten. Nevertheless, most oatmeal brands on the market today are not pure– they consist of oats that have been cross-contaminated with a small quantity of wheat, barley, and/or rye.

This cross-contamination occurs because the farmers and food processors who grow and deal with oats also grow and deal with gluten grains.

Because those grains clearly do have gluten in them, the cross-contamination makes most oatmeal brands hazardous on the gluten-free diet.

For instance, Quaker Oats mentions on its website that it can not guarantee its oatmeal is gluten-free.

It’s possible to grow pure oats, and business offering certified gluten-free oatmeal are using oats that do not have any gluten cross-contamination. Those need to be safe for most of people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten level of sensitivity. However, some people will have reactions even with pure oats.breakfast and oatmeal

Which Brands of Oatmeal Are Safe on the Gluten-Free Diet?

Fortunately for those who can endure oats, there are a range of various gluten-free-certified oatmeals on the marketplace:

  • Arrowhead Mills prominently labels one variation of its steel-cut oats gluten-free. Understand that the business also produces organic steel-cut oats that are ruled out gluten-free.Packages look alike, so do not get the wrong one by error.
  • Bob’s Red Mill produces 3 different types of gluten-free oatmeal, consisting of quick-cooking oats, rolled oats, and steel-cut oats. Bob’s tests for gluten down to 20 parts per million. Ensure you purchase only gluten-free labeled oatmeal– Bob’s has several that are not gluten-free.
  • GF Harvest is a celiac family-owned business in Wyoming. The business grows its own oats and carries out comprehensive screening to make particular its fields remain unpolluted, consisting of checking the seeds it uses down to 3 parts per million. GF Harvest holds gluten-free certification along with natural and Kosher accreditations. Products include natural gluten-free rolled oats and routine gluten-free rolled oats, which you can use to make gluten-free oatmeal.
  • Glutenfreeda Foods provides 4 different types of accredited gluten-free oatmeal, including apple cinnamon, maple raisin, banana maple and natural. All consist of flax meal in addition to gluten-free oatmeal. Glutenfreeda offers its products online and in some specialty stores.
  • Holly’s Oatmeal goes for the purest possible oatmeal– the company evaluates its oats to make sure they consist of less than 5 parts per countless gluten. Holly’s makes gluten-free oatmeal in two tastes: plain and cranberry. Given that the company likewise sells non-gluten-free oatmeal, ensure you only purchase products in the blue boxes. The oatmeal is offered online and in some stores, including Whole Foods.
  • Montana Gluten-Free works directly with farmers to make certain the oats it sells are not cross-contaminated with gluten. The business provides gluten-free oatmeal in two sizes: 3 pounds. and 7.5 lbs., both which you can buy at the Montana Gluten-Free site.
  • Udi’s Gluten-Free markets two different tastes of steel-cut oats: plain and with added currants, flax seeds, and chia seeds. Both are made on the same lines that process tree nuts.
  • Udi’s is licensed gluten-free and tests its products to guarantee they consist of less than 10 parts per countless gluten. Note that other companies that sell gluten-free products also produce oatmeal that’s not accredited gluten-free– be extremely mindful to examine labels, and presume a product isn’t safe unless it’s particularly marked as gluten-free oatmeal.

Gluten-Free Oatmeal May Not Agree With You If You Have Celiac Disease

To make things even more complicated, a small portion of people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity likewise react to avenin, the protein discovered in oats, which implies they have to include oats to their list of prohibited grains.

It’s unclear how many people with celiac disease also react to oats– some price quotes remain in the series of 10% to 15%, but research is continuous. In addition, there’s proof that some types of oats are more hazardous than others to people with celiac disease.

If you have celiac or gluten level of sensitivity, the only way for you to determine if you respond to oatmeal is to attempt some (begin with just a couple of spoonfuls) in its pure, gluten-free kind– there is some anecdotal proof that people who are more conscious gluten likewise respond more regularly to oats, however there’s no research to prove it.

For that reason, if you’re an identified celiac, you need to consult your doctor first and then proceed extremely carefully when adding gluten-free oatmeal to your diet. If your celiac disease symptoms return, stop eating the gluten-free oatmeal instantly.

 

Updated: 21.12.2016 — 16:18

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Health and Welfare © 2017. About us. Contact us: iythealth@gmail.com
This site is for information only and NOT a substitute for professional diagnosis and treatment.
iythealth.com